Endicott College: The History of the Wylie Inn
Located just 2 miles from the center of Beverly, MA and situated on a scenic section overlooking the ocean, the Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College currently consists of multiple buildings that all share in a unique history that is interwoven with the growth and history of this great New England college campus. Unique amongst New England Inns, the Wylie Inn successfully balances the intimacy one associates with traditional New England Bed and Breakfasts, with the state of the art amenities demanded by today’s modern hotel traveler.
The building that is now known as the Wylie Inn, was originally built in 1958 as a residence hall, using land that was given to Endicott College by Mr. and Mrs. Harold F. Chalifoux. In 2007, the building was renovated and a new wing was added on. With its location near the entrance to the Endicott College Campus, our inn is also a convenient base for those who plan to visit campus attractions including:
- Callahan Center- the university bookstore and health center
- Endicott Stadium: home of the Endicott Gulls, Endicott Stadium is one of the premier NCAA Division III stadiums in New England. Endicott is also pleased to host several summer sports organization and camps each year.
- Post Sports Science and Fitness Center: At the Post Center guests can take advantage of fitness, dance, weight and aerobic rooms, racquetball courts, locker rooms, a competition gymnasium and a field house with a suspended running track and a traverse climbing wall. Guests of the Wylie Inn receive complimentary use of Endicott College Post Center.
- Walter J. Manninen Center for the Arts The state-of-the-art facility includes the Rose Performance Hall, a 250-seat performance hall with professional-quality acoustics; Tia’s Theatre, a 100-seat black box theater for drama, dance, technical theater workshops, and performances; a digital recording studio; a museum-quality art gallery for visiting art exhibits, gallery talks, and community shows. Click here to check out the latest performances and exhibits at Endicott College Arts Calendar
The historic Tupper Manor was originally built in 1901 at the summer home of the Bryce Allen family, founders of the Canadian shipping company Allan Shipping Lines. Endicott College purchased the home in 1943 from the Allan family, and named it "Tupper Hall", after the second president of Endicott College, Dr. Eleanor Tupper. Since then, Tupper Hall has been used as an Endicott College residence hall and as the home for the Endicott College’s School of Hospitality Management. Today it is an important part of the Wylie Conference Center, providing an elegant and sophisticated setting for many celebrations, including weddings, bar/bat mitzvah, anniversary and birthday celebrations and reunions.
The Conference Center
Constructed in 1955, this building next to Tupper Manor was originally utilized as the Endicott College's gymnasium. Today, the building houses North Boston’s newest conference center and oceanfront meeting center, complete with 14,600 square feet of meeting space consisting of 16 meeting rooms, a 115-seat flexible seating room and a tiered-classroom seminar room (designed especially for laptop computer training). The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College has been accredited by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) assuring quality and service.
The Wylie Inn and Conference Center is proud of its partnership with Endicott College and for being a source for teaching hospitality, as well as delivering it. Through its relationship with the Endicott College’s School of Hospitality Management, Wylie Inn has supported the department and acted as a hands-on laboratory and instruction resource for students endeavoring to pursue the art and science that is hospitality service. Many of the students we have worked with have gone on to become leaders in the industry and taken on management roles at some of the finest hotels, restaurants and inns in Boston, New England and internationally.